It was a very nice weekend. I’m in not-so-sunny California. Heather came out on Friday, leaving the boys at her mum and da’s. I took Friday afternoon off. I picked Heather up at the airport (changed into my kilt in the parking lot; I was going to change at work but lost my nerve at the last moment), then we went off to Target to buy a pillow (I don’t sleep with one left to myself, but Heather requires one.) We went home and met my roommates; after two years of sharing a house with me, I think they were starting to think Heather was imaginary. She’s not, of course. We walked through the Castro and up into the Haight (not exactly direct). We had tapas at the Haight Street Cha Cha Cha – I prefer the Mission one, myself. No Boddington’s on tap at Haight. Then we took the bus to Mission and fourth and saw ‘Big Fish’. Interesting. Some hip young inner-city kids of today called me faggot, apparently in honor of my kilt. I smiled. Then we went home by way of a coffeeshop and got into bed early with takeout dessert.

On Saturday we got up and went to one of my usual places, Liberties, for brunch. Liberties is an Irish pub and we were able to have a lovely if filling meal. Unfortunately, the Boddington’s was flat and I had to make do with some other Irish dark thing on tap. After brunch we drove down to Santa Cruz and rode a bunch of rides; it was the first time we had ever been to the boardwalk together without children. We ate all make and manner of junk food. Then we drove up past our old house (still a nice place, but we agreed it looked better when we lived there). We got back to the city, ate yet more, then went to bed.

Yesterday we got up, got coffee, and drove over to Coit tower. The parking lot of Coit tower is one of my favorite places and one of my usual stops when out gopedding, however, I’d never been up in the tower. Heather and I went up and enjoyed the view. It was lovely. Surprisingly, there was parking available. Next we went to the mall and did a bit of shopping. Among other things, we each got shoes and Heather got this really cute short pleated green skirt. I managed to talk her into changing into it in the car. We went home, then off to the movies where we saw ‘Lost in Translation’. A late dinner at the Mission Cha Cha Cha (I finally got my Boddington’s), a spot of coffee on the way home, and off to bed.

Today Heather is on her own; I think she is planning to go to SFMOMA. Later she will take the train down and we will go to dinner at Srinivas’ house. Tomorrow morning she is back to the east coast.

It’s been a fun weekend together.

