O1 and me

O1 and I hung out together for most of the day on Saturday.

First we went to the dump. O1 likes going to the dump because he gets to ride in the truck. He’s really good about staying in the truck; the dump has a resident monster, Norm, the dump monster, who is always there. The dump monster has a human form but is a dangerous beast; the dump monster eats any children that it finds outside of a motor vehicle. So O1 always stays in the truck and peers intently at the dump monster. On the way back, we always discuss the dump monster at length. At present, we think he might be a space alien.

Then we went by the post office and stopped by the firehouse. We had loaned the building to a local non-smoking organization that was doing car washes for charity. O1 wanted to get the truck washed, but I refused; first, none of the windows close properly, plus, the thing would probably fall apart if the dirt was removed. I had to finish the paperwork for a call that I was at on Friday, though, so that’s what we did. We said hello to two other FFs who happened to be there. O1 was pretty patient through the whole thing.

Later in the day, we went out again. We had to get bug spray to take care of the bees living on our patio right over the spot where we needed to do some preparation for a hot tub installation. We went back by the firehouse to get my little red car washed, then stuck around for a while to talk to the chief. The chief had his grandson with him and was allowing the boy the run of the engine bay. O1 watched the boy running around while I droned on with the chief and finally asked if he (O1, not the chief) could play, also. I told him that he could and off he went. I spoke with the chief for about twenty more minutes while the two boys explored all three engines, inside and out. O1, as you can imagine, was thrilled. I answered a few questions for the boys regarding bits of equipment, showed them the Scott packs, let the grandson try on the Scott pack, and set off a PASS alarm (a motion-sensitive device carried by firefighters inside buildings to help other ffs to find a downed ff) so that they could see how loud it was.

In the evening, we went to the Rutland Fair. We went as a family last weekend and were going to go again this weekend, but O2 didn’t nap, a requirement for fair attendance, so O1 and I went by ourselves.

Just as we were leaving our road, my pager went off for a person choking in town, so we made a detour. Luckily, the person managed to dislodge the object before we got there; as it was, I was pretty rattled. In any event, O1 hung out in the car and talked to the other FFs as they arrived.

Then we went on to the fair.

Here we are in a funhouse.

O1 and me at the fair

I had a stack of tickets from last time for me and bought O1 an unlimited ride wristlet. We rode on just about everything he wanted to at least once; there were a few things that I did not want to go on… I went on the Spider once (I went on it last weekend, too) but managed to find him another single rider for his second ride of the day. I was forced to go on the swings (I *HATE* the swings) when the operator wouldn’t let O1 go by himself (O1 was a little incensed about the different policies enforced by the swing operators between last weekend and this). We went on Starship 2000 (a ride that spins, applying g forces to the riders leaning against the outside wall) four times. He really liked that and was starting to do tricks like the other teenaged riders by the end of the evening; climbing up the walls, sitting up. I had to rein him in when he tried to stand up and had to explain that not everything he sees other people do is a smart idea. He was okay with that, though. After all the vigorous rides I was a little woozy top and bottom but still managed to hang with the unflappable O1.

We finally got home around 11:30… Very late, but a great day for both of us.

