Last week, I was elected coordinator of my primary squad. The ambulance lady, the former coordinator, decided to step down. She has taken the assistant coordinator job and will help me with the bits of red tape. She nominated me for the coordinator spot due to my dedication to the squad and experience representing the squad at state and district medical board meetings.

I had my first headache as squad boss on Sunday; I had a complaint about the actions of two squaddies on a call Saturday night. A third squad member who had not been at the call heard from someone in a different town about what had happened and called me at 0900 on Sunday morning. It is a minor infraction related to scene safety that could have been very serious; it falls to me to gather the facts and then discuss it with the two squaddies. I expect it to be handled pretty informally.

I had a lovely time in SF last weekend with the incomparable . It was too short, though. I need independently wealthy in-laws, I think.

I traded my scooter in on a new one. The new one, a Goped GSR-40, is chain-drive, has dual disk brakes, and has pneumatic tires. This means that I can scoot through wet conditions without the direct-drive spindle slipping, and that I can go down improbably-steep hills without the brake effect diminishing as the calipers heat past the temperature required to melt rubber, and that I can go over bad pavement without the precaution of keeping my mouth wide open. It goes fast. The chain drive means that the ‘ped sounds different than the old one; it’s got a high-pitched whirring noise that sounds sort of science-fictionish. It’s still being broken in so I haven’t maxxed out the throttle yet. It’s bigger than the old one, too, which is good while riding but bad while carrying it in a store.

Paid our taxes. The bad part about having a pet corporation is having two sets of taxes to do.

