I was driving along some highway when the car in front of me veered off the road.

The car just drifted off the road and bounced into a ditch. I stopped and got out; several other cars stopped too. I grabbed my bags and extrication gloves and went back to the car. There were two people in it, a man in the driver’s seat and a woman in back. The driver’s seat was reclined; the woman in back was stretched out across the back seat. Both people had their eyes closed. There was no visible blood or other injuries. The car was virtually undamaged.

I pulled open the driver’s door.

“Sir? Sir? Can you hear me?”

“Tired. So tired.”

“Sir, are you hurt anywhere? Do you have any pain?”

“Just tired.”

The woman in the back seat stirred slightly, but didn’t say anything.

I was starting to think about carbon monoxide poisoning. I put away my extrication gloves, pulled a set of exam gloves out of my pocket, and started to put them on.

Beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep-beep!

My pager went off, waking me from a sound sleep.

The real call wasn’t as interesting as the dream call; a frequent flyer not feeling right.

Not sure where the dream came from; I did work my first interstate call several days ago. An ambulance responding to a single car accident was struck by a van resulting in five injured patients from the total of three vehicles. The excitable chief of our neighboring department was rattled and called for ‘five or six ambulances’. I figured they needed help so I went to the scene. It was interesting although I didn’t do much patient care. Happily, the crew from the destroyed ambulance are okay; not sure about the patients from the other vehicles.

