Got the tags printed… Now I just have to assemble them. Thanks variously to and .

I have a second set of turnout gear now; the ‘new’ set is for my paid service. It’s nice gear; well used, though. It lives at the fire station; good thing since the trunk of my car is packed with gear as it is. It seems like that town is going to put me to use; the town administrator was looking for me several days ago to do some computer work for the municipality. Apparently they tried to get me on the dispatch frequency to come in and do some work on their network. I had the radio off (pagers on) so didn’t hear the call. I find it kind of amusing that the town would use the regional emergency dispatch system to get me to do computer work. Users always think computer problems are emergencies, but still. I wonder if they’ll still want me to work on their systems when they discover that may consulting rates are an order of magnitude higher than what they pay me for EMS work… I know the other companies they use, though, and my rates are comparable, so they shoud be able to deal. I’d like it if my EMS peers didn’t clue into my consulting rates, but we’ll see.

My vollie FD had a drill the other night regarding vehicle extrication. I got to use the jaws to cut off the roof of the car. Fun stuff. I set off a fire extinguisher in the trunk of my car afterwards while stowing my gear. The fire extingusher thing is getting to be a bad habit. I didn’t bother to clean up the dry chem; I just threw some hazmat towels in on top of the mess and put my gear on top. I’ll clean up some other month.

Had a weird call today… 20 year old female with neck injury and shortness of breath. She was in the shower, extended her neck to rinse her hair, heard/felt a pop. Excruciating pain in the neck, pain in chest on inspiration. Not sure what her deal was. She seemed like a nice person having a bad day; calm when I got there, burst into tears when she realized her day was shot. She got the whole immobilization dealie.

I dealt with an assault by baseball bat last week. The guy wasn’t too badly hurt but pretended he was; not sure why.

It’s off to the beach tomorrow night… Whee. I’m hoping to take a hang-gliding lesson this year; we’ll see.

