So, here’s the problem with being on a paid squad… Creeping hours.

I was toned to the next town north for a motor vehicle collision. I dropped my car at the rescue barn and rode in the truck to the scene with a first responder (FR; the lowest grade of EMS worker). The MVA involved two cars; the first stopped short and barely hit a deer; the second plowed into the back of the first at a high rate of speed. Happily, no one was badly hurt; three patients were transported, all in the one ambulance. The one ambulance was from my paid squad which happens to be the transporting agency for the town to the north.

Mrs. Turquois was on scene, as well. She ended up driving the ambulance to the hospital so both of the working techs could ride in back with the patients. One of the patients was just riding to the hospital to be with another of the patients until about halfway there when she started to complain of back pain.

I drove Mrs. Turquois’ car to the hospital to pick up Mrs. Turquois. While there, a call came in to transport a patient back from the trauma center, a different hospital farther north. A new crew was needed to cover town. Mrs. Turquois and I both work for the squad and, hey, were standing right there. So we were drafted; Mrs. Turquois to drive the rig to the other hospital with one member of the original crew and me to stay in town with the other squaddie for town coverage.

And so it went. I was gone for two hours longer than I would have expected for a ‘simple’ MVA; on the other hand, I ended up being paid for the entire time including the initial MVA which otherwise would be uncompensated volunteer time.

