The Salvation Army came and took away my furniture. SA might not have been my first choice… They were, however, the only group that could pick up my stuff on short notice.

I’m down to a lamp, a futon, and a window shade. The lamp I will ship home in tomorrow’s final box while the futon will be dropped at SA on my way out of town. The shade, having quite well fulfilled its $30 IKEA lifespan, will be retired.

Last night I cashed in $63 worth of spare change that I had collected over the last three years. The CoinStar(tm) machine gave me several options including putting my cash on a Starchuck’s card or donating the proceeds. I was all set to donate the cash until the machine made it clear that I could not choose the recipient charity nor even find out who the recipient would be. I was like, I think not.

I did follow through with my philanthropic urges by contributing to the California educational system through my purchase of several lottery tickets. Somewhat later, I supported the indigenous economy by going to my local for a pair of pints.

I went to dinner with some local friends; we were supposed to have dinner at thier house. Yesterday afternoon, I realized that I was going to have to work late and told them I would have to eat and run. My friend Patty suggested that we should eat out locally, saving me two hours of travel time. I gratefully accepted and we had dinner at a nice Chinese place just south of the Red Menace. Patty brought me several containers of soup that she had prepared which I will have for dinner tonight.

Yum.

