CNN:

“Modern Taiwan is free and democratic and prosperous. By embracing freedom at all levels, Taiwan has delivered prosperity to its people and created a free and democratic Chinese society,” Bush will say according to an advance text released by the U.S. White House.

http://edition.cnn.com/2005/WORLD/asiapcf/11/15/apec.bush.china/

Reuters:

President George W. Bush reiterated on Wednesday that Washington supported a “one-China policy” and said that China and Taiwan should settle their differences peacefully.

http://today.reuters.com/news/newsArticle.aspx?type=topNews&storyID=2005-11-16T033045Z_01_RID521951_RTRUKOC_0_US-BUSH-ASIA.xml&archived=False

I’m guessing the red Chinese would prefer the Reuters story. I wonder why CNN isn’t blunting the point? I mean, they were the leaders in ignoring brutality in exchange for placement. Hard to believe they are just going to start reporting the news. Maybe they are looking forward, as I am, to the hoopla to follow from the red Chinese and thinking they can somehow spin it to discredit the administration. Clumsy diplomacy, maybe. For my part, principled support for universal democracy is one thing I like about Bush.

Hey, George… I’m still not happy. Do the right thing about immigration and the southern border and we’ll talk.

