I trotted out Google the other day in a reply to a friend discussing the ‘Bush lied!’ misdirection to point out that many people, not just Bush, had felt that Iraq was an issue that needed resolving. In a lovely bit of synchronicity, a blogger I read later the same day posted a very similar Google, only adding ‘1998’ to the search terms I had suggested (‘Clinton’, ‘Iraq’). I was flabbergasted when my correspondent suggested that all of these statements meant nothing since Clinton just talked about the problem, never actually did anything (the story of his entire time in office, IMHO, but I digress). Imagine my surprise to find this morning that the blogger has also been treated to the exact same non-argument.

It seems the critics have moved the goalposts. Their attack line was “Bush LIED.” Google proves that that line is inoperable, so they have moved to “Well, at least Clinton didn’t actually invade Iraq.”

http://junkyardblog.net/archives/week_2005_11_13.html#005066

