I just finished a two day class on Advanced Cardiac Life Support given at the local trauma center. I was the only student who was not an RN. I passed, I’m happy to say. I had thought that I would get to gloss over the meds and procedures that are not in my scope of care; that was not the case. Anyway, it was very interesting and I learned a lot. It was my second introduction to ECG rhythms… Previously, the knowledge was theoretical; now I need to be able to identify specific rhythms in order to provide the correct care.

Last weekend I went to a two day class on operating fire pumps at the Southern Vermont Regional Fire School. This training was also very interesting. The first day was all classroom and covered how to determine, set, and maintain the proper operating pump discharge pressure given various numbers and combinations of attack lines, nozzles, hose diameter and length, and elevation gain or loss. The second day was spent with pumpers, practicing various modes and details of usage.

My volunteer department received our new pumper several weeks ago; it is now in service. I’ve had a fair amount of practice driving and pumping with it and am signed off as an authorized operator… It’s possible that I have pumped with it more than anyone else in the department at this point. We had on open house on Saturday to show the engine off to the town; afterwards, I was invited to take my family for a ride in it. Rabid and the offspring piled into the five-person cab, O1 in the officer’s seat, Rabid and O2 in back, and we went for a ride into the village and back. The kids seemed to have a good time; I was a little nervous since it was the first time I had taken the truck out without an officer in attendance.

I don’t have any good pictures of the new truck although I will post some when I get some.

This weekend I am heading off to darkest PA in order to attend a bachelor party being thrown by some Fest friends; the Catatonics. I expect to be hung over for much of next week.

Pictures…

This is my network guy with a pile of mousepads… We had 500 made up. Everyone seems to like them.

This is looking down the ladder from the bucket to the quint. The garage door down there is fifteen or twenty feet tall. The gauge on the right of the ladder seems to show that the angle of the ladder is just over sixty degrees.

Last week we threw up a thirty-five foot laddder for training and it came to just over the roof of the brick section. “Lock in and lean back!”

To the left, you can see the hood of Ambulance One.

Here I am, eighty-five feet from the quint. Large, ain’t it? Driving it is a trip.

The ladder can actually be depressed below the level of the quint. I’m over the employee parking area in this picture, though.

Looking east from the fire department. From over the fire department, really.

North east.

North.

North west.

