I love YouTube.

Here’s the results of my randomish video surfing last night. Thank goodness you have broadband.

Soft Cell – Frustration

The only bad part about this video is that on the album, Frustration segues right into Tainted Love. So here’s that.

Soft Cell – Tainted Love

NSEC is an awesome, awesome album.

I hadn’t seen that video before and found the light people to be pretty interesting. They reminded me of the disco ball chick (literally; the disco ball, as egg, disgorges a disco ball, um, offspring) in Wang Chung’s Dance Hall Days. So here’s that.

Wang Chung – Dance Hall Days

He kind of reminds me of Ivan. Please feel free to skip this one if you just… Can’t… Take… It… One… More… Time.

Men Without Hats – Safety Dance

I hadn’t seen this video until yesterday. It’s beyond goofy, but I’ve always thought this song was beautiful.

Flock of Seagulls – Wishing

Again; goofy video, good music.

ABC – Look of Love

ABC – Poison Arrow

I could play this whole album; Lexicon of Love has got to be one of my three favorite albums.

Somehow, the following video is different than I recall. I’m guessing that this didn’t get US airplay; I must have seen a different, US version. I got here also from the Wang Chung video; I can’t tell you how or why. The link must be in the alternate version. NSFW.

Duran Duran – The Chauffeur

It takes me a while to calm down after that one.

Whew.

Anyway, speaking of guilty pleasures…

Toni Basil – Mickey

Nina Hagen – New York, New York

I think this is the only video that came out after I was out of high school. It’s okay, though; I owned Cruel Summer before I got out, so that should count.

Bananarama – Venus

Okay, these were later, too.

I used to run lasers at the I-Beam in San Francisco, back in the day… (‘The red laser beam over head, illuminating the steam rising from the crowd of men, stripped to the waist, their torsoes glistening with a veneer of sweat.’) This was my favorite song to play to.

New Order – Bizarre Love triangle

I had no idea this was Martin Fry.

Yes – Owner of a Lonely Heart

I’ve never heard as huge a reverb actually used.

Pet Shop Boys – Always On My Mind

“It should make me feel better… But I don’t know how I’m going to get through.”

Three from way back to finish up with.

Blondie – Heart of Glass

Supertramp – The Logical SongGary Newman – Cars

