I have found something I don’t like about WordPress… The on-line editor. The window is way too small. Control-arrow, rather than always moving the cursor one word in the direction of the arrow, sometimes moves to the end or beginning of the document.

Right after dinner I got toned out for a car accident in the town to the north. The tone was for fire and rescue to respond to a car in the brook, though I wasn’t aware of a brook on the road named. I got moving out that way and after a few minutes the address was amended to a different road, this one closer to my location.

It had been snowing for a little while and there was a dusting of snow everywhere. It was really icy after the relative warmth of the day. I heard a fire truck and the rescue truck sign on, and I heard the head of my rescue squad, Rescue 1, sign off at the scene of the accident. Apparently there was one person involved, they were not hurt, but they needed help getting out of the vehicle.

Rescue 1 is not his actual call-sign; while by convention, the chief of a service has the ‘1’ designation, R1 uses a different number.

I heard R1 ask the responding fire truck to stop at the intersection of the ‘main’ paved road with the dirt road where the accident was to stop traffic from coming up the slippery hill past the scene. The accident was a mile or so up the hill from the intersection. The truck hadn’t left the station yet, so I stopped at the intersection.

I got out, leaving the car running with the lights and strobes on. I put on a florescent vest and grabbed my flashlight. It was snowing pretty hard. It was cold, too. I huddled into my hood. No cars came by. It snowed.

After a minute or two, Mrs. Turquoise drove up. We said hello. It had been only an hour or two since we’d gotten off shift together at our paid department and were both still in uniform. She generously offered to stay and block traffic and let me go up to the scene. I told her I was fine and that she should go on up.

After a few more minutes, the fire truck arrived. I said hello to the firefighters and told them I was going to go up to the scene. Returning to my car, I backed up into a driveway while they moved their truck into the space vacated by my car. I pulled out of the driveway and headed up the hill. It was really slippery. There were zig-zagging skid marks in the snow the whole way up. After about a quarter of a mile, I came across a woman walking down the hill. She didn’t appear to be in any distress so I drove on. After about another quarter of a mile, I came across a car pulled up next to the snowbank delimiting the left side of the road. While it wasn’t visible past the snow bank, I knew there was a dropoff to the brook right on the other side of the snow banks. On the right. the forested terrain continues steeply up hill.

There was no one around the car. I assumed the car belonged to the woman walking down the hill and that she had stopped driving due to the extreme slipperiness of the hill.

It was really slippery and I wondered how I was going to get my own car down.

After a while, I came up to the accident. An officer from the fire department waved me to where he wanted me to park. I got out and walked up a few yards to the accident.

CIMG3733

The car had slid over the bank. R1 was down the bank, talking to the driver. The driver appeared to be okay, but there was no easy way for him to get out of the car.

I got a firefighter to help me secure the rear end of the car to a tree on the other side of the road. They were getting ready to get the guy out of the car so I hopped down the bank, ending up waist deep in snow. I made my way over to the car and helped R1 and another member of the squad hold a stokes basket while the guy crawled onto it, then helped to guide the stokes as it was hauled up the hill. R1 then managed to get the driver’s dog out of the car and passed up the bank.

The three of us squaddies climbed back out with some help from firefighters above.

CIMG3736

Firefighters return the stokes to the rescue truck.

The ambulance was on scene for a while. The ambulance was from my paid squad; it was crewed by the twins. We collected history and warmed the dog. After a while, the driver started to complain of neck and back pain so we boarded him and sent him and the twins on their way.

CIMG3740

Then we stood around and waited for the wrecker. R1 took the opportunity to out me as a blogger. He had found my blog while searching for my company and had alerted me to the presence of what he thought was personal information (which I appreciate). In front of a group of firefighters and Mrs. Turquoise, he asked if I was going to be posting pictures to my blog. Then he told Mrs. Turquoise that she had her own name on my blog.

Mrs. Turquoise remarked that I had better only be saying good things about her.

Anyway, so the cat is out of the bag. I understand from speaking with Mrs. Turquoise that folks at my paid department know about the blog. Beforehand, people knew about my photosharing site (http://www.flickr.com/photos/bxiie/) but not my written blog. I guess it was only a matter of time.

CIMG3751

A town sand truck came by and sanded the road. That made me much more relaxed.

The wrecker came and took away the truck. That was that.

Last night at my volunteer department, Mrs. Turquoise complained that I made her sound dull and uninteresting. For the record, she isn’t. More details in the future.

