I recently had the opportunity to go to Dallas, Texas, on business. The only thing I knew offhand about Dallas was that President John F. Kennedy was shot there on November 22, 1963, just over two years before I was born.

I knew about the assassination of President Kennedy from an early age. When I was in middle school, while visiting my grandparents, I found a yellowing copy of the Baltimore Sun from November 23, 1963. I would have been around twelve, I guess, when I found the paper. It was a fascinating story.

I was very excited to have the opportunity to finally visit Dealey Plaza.

I arrived in Dallas by air on Saturday night. I stayed in a hostel. It was cheap; $20 per night. The accomodations were fairly palatial for a hostel; a one-bedroom apartment set up for two people. The place was very dirty, though.

CIMG3836

This is the refrigerator.

I did clean a tabletop. Other than that, I didn’t touch anything with my bare skin; not even the used dental floss on the floor in front of my bed.

I did once pick up impetigo apparently by sleeping on the floor in a disgusting low rent motel in Metarie, Louisiana. So I was careful.

It was pretty outside at the hostel.

CIMG3837

On Sunday, I went to Dealey Plaza.

It is a lot smaller, more intimate, than I expected.

CIMG3847

This is it. This picture is taken from the Grassy Knoll up Elm Street. That’s the former Texas Schoolbook Depository on the left. The window where Oswald supposedly fired from is on the far right of the building, one floor down from the top.

The plaza was full of people. There were several stands set up where people were selling conspiracy theories. In addition, several other ‘conspiracists’ were walking around, showing tourists what happened where and each selling copies of the same two conspiracy publications, one a glossy magazine, the other a newsprint broadsheet.

I bought a set and went to lunch at a lovely ethnic place.

The server looked perplexed when I asked for a White Russian. He blinked a few times. Then he asked me if that was some kind of beer. I settled for a Dos Equis, but it wasn’t what I was looking for.

After my research lunch, I headed back over to Dealey plaza and checked everything out.

I guess it’s kind of macabre, but they have two ‘x’s marked on the roadway on Elm Street. My understanding is that the first ‘x’ is the location where Kennedy was hit by the first bullet and the second is where the last bullet hit. The markings really do help you to visualize sightlines from all over the plaza.

You can go up to the sixth floor of the building where Oswald was working. The whole floor is a museum. You can’t actually go to the window where Oswald supposedly took his shots from; they have the area around it partitioned off with plexiglass and the area restored to the contemporaneous condition.

Photography is strictly prohibited in the museum; you aren’t allowed to take photographs out the windows. Someone on the street sold this one to me; put it right on my USB key. Two dollar.

sxflr

Click on that and then select ‘Original’ size for the best view. This is (from what I understand) out of the second window. You can see from the ‘x’s that Oswald had to wait for Kennedy to clear that tree in order to get his three shots in. You can see the traffic light at the bottom, though; that is the intersection with Houston Street. Kennedy came down Houston Street (70 degrees to the left), turned onto Elm, and started to accelerate. The illicit photo vendor didn’t have a view up Houston and for that I am saddened; it’s a great view that would have accorded a nice shot.

You have to wonder why Oswald would have waited for Kennedy to slow down, take the turn onto Elm Street, and start speeding up again before taking the shot rather than taking the shot on Houston while Kennedy was slowing.

It seems that shots came from several different directions. There are several positions behind the fence on the grassy knoll that are assumed to be shooter positions and are marked for easy identification.

If this is really a shooter position, it’s a good one. I don’t think it’s even a hundred feet from the fence to the ‘x’.

CIMG3872

Behind the fence there were many interesting bits of graffiti.

CIMG3857

CIMG3858

CIMG3859

I have no idea what happened. A poster in the ‘Sixth Floor Museum’ gift shop listed twenty-seven separate groups of people with motive. This website has a lot of interesting information that outlines the common conspiracy theories and provides supporting evidence.

I think it’s peculiar, though, that the official story is that a single mediocre shooter did all of that damage with three rounds from the same position. It’s not credible. Then you have to wonder why the government sticks with that silly story; even the ‘Sixth Floor Museum’ lists some other possible stories. They have to, for the sheer reason that the facts speak for themselves. Then you have to wonder… If the government wasn’t somehow involved, why do they stick with that silly story?

