I just got back from the conference.

Supertech brought the new guy up; we met in Burlington Friday night at the conference center. The new guy is going to focus on sales and will start in a few weeks. He came with us for the weekend.

CIMG4065
Here’s our booth.

As you can see, we were primarily focusing on Cardiac Science AEDs and laptop sales at this event. We now have a demo unit for the Cardiac Science AED G3 Plus, the basic unit for public access or first responder use, as well as the Cardiac Science G3 Pro, a device intended for emergency services. We borrowed a cardiac simulator for the show and so were able to run through the AED functionality.

We recently acquired the G3 Pro, like, on Saturday. The unit has not yet been upgraded to the 2005 protocols though I will be working on that on Monday. Once I upgrade it, I will start carrying the G3 Pro rather than the G3 Plus with my EMS gear. I will have Supertech carry the G3 Plus in his truck; I don’t see the point in having the devices in the office when they are not being actively used in demos.

By the way, the Cardiac Science units have a seven-year warranty, you know.

CIMG4062

We had an awesome position by the door to the room where breakfast, lunch, and snacks were served.

CIMG4066

Those tables need skirts, don’t they?

Okay, sorry for the advertising. I will be doing an advertising-oriented post in the near future, though, so be forewarned.

Several entities I am familiar with were recognized during the award ceremony last night.

First, Lt. Toadstool, a paramedic student, won a scholarship. I can’t imagine what the selection process must entail; merit must not be part of the criteria.

(Note to readers: the previous sentence employs ‘irony’.  This literary device, according to dictionary.com, is ‘a use of words to express something different from and often opposite to their literal meaning’.  Most of my RL friends would realize that I typically wouldn’t say anything negative about someone in particular by name, especially someone that I work with, unless I was being *ironic*, which would be a very typical way to express myself.  I feel Toadstool is a fine EMT and I am pleased that the award went to him, her, or it).

Anyway, here he is with Dan Manz, the state EMS director.

CIMG4049

Mount Ascutney Hospital won the EMS Hospital of the Year award. I like this emergency department a lot and I have always felt a great deal of support and respect from the staff. I was very happy for them.

CIMG4056

Somehow Toadstool snuck into this picture.

West Windsor FAST Squad won the First Responder Service of the Year award. Here are several members of the squad with Dan Manz.

CIMG4057

Afterward the awards ceremony, they have the traditional social gathering. This event is like a minimal wedding reception held at a mediocre conference center, except with a cash bar. It’s fun, though. For many of these people, going to the conference is among the rare times that they don’t carry a pager.

I spent some time hanging out with the head of one of my services. I’ve previously referred to him as R1; that is not his real call sign, though it is his position. He and R2 (not her real number, either) came for the conference dinner, the awards ceremony, and the entertainment. He has some interesting ideas about how to improve patient care in our region within three services that have a lot of overlapping membership.

I’ve been on a white russian kick lately; I had three well-mixed examples over the course of the evening. I would have had more but the hotel ATM couldn’t contact my bank’s ATM and so wouldn’t give me money. Supertech had gone to bed early and the new guy went to visit his brother. So, after a small amount of boozing, a medium amount of dancing (with the incomparable R2; luckily her husband, R1, didn’t seem to mind), and a certain amount of crowd viewing entertainment, I carried myself off to bed earlyish. I was there when the DJ stopped and they turned the lights on but earlyish as in I only stopped into the bar for a few minutes.

In addition to vending, I was a conference attendee. I attended several interesting sessions on documentation case studies, shock management, how New Hampshire implemented electronic Patient Care Record reporting, volunteer recruitment and retention, and crystal methamphetamine awareness.

