Not to be confusing; Pleasanton appears to suck ass every day. Today just happens to be the 18th.

Today is the first day it has rained in San Francisco on July 18th in recorded history. I’m proud to say I was there for it. My wireless adapter spent the night on the window ledge and was slightly damp this morning but appears to have survived.

Also; Mary Jo Kopechne was left to die 38 years ago today. And die she did.

Now; to Pleasanton. This town sucks. Sucks.

As my readers may know, I got a ticket for something related to jaywalking several days ago. The cop didn’t tell me exactly what the ticket was for; I guess I’ll find out when I get to court.

Anyway, Pleasanton sucked before I got the ticket and will continue to suck after I’m gone.

My ten minute walk from the BART station takes twenty or more minutes due to the large amount of time spent at intersections waiting for the brief pedestrian crossing signs. Two of the three intersections never have traffic but all are controlled by pedestrian crossing signs. The signs are free, I guess. And, of course, I have to cross five streets to get through the three intersections, one way or another.

The clear message is ‘fuck congestion, drive’.

Within walking distance of my job, there are lots of restaurants. Arby’s, Denny’s, Taco Bell, In-and-Out Burger, Burger King.

I’ve never really liked the East Bay compared to SF and now I understand why. Pleasanton is located in a suck-ass singularity, creating a neutral/suck gradient across the bay to San Francisco. The East Bay is unfortunately caught in this gradient, dragging it down.

What is Pleasanton proud of? What do they identify with? What makes them special?

Condos across the street from BART, that’s what. Garsh knows why you would want to live in this little slice of congealed New Jersey right here in the Valley, but it’s nice to know that you can be on a train and out of here in a jiffy.

Hey, if you want to rob a bank in Pleasanton, 10:30 am is the time to do it. The cops congregate at Upchux for coffee and rest from their taxing duties protecting society from dangerous jaywalking criminals. For about an hour.

