I have a new camera; it arrived on Tuesday.

Several years ago I bought a Casio Exilm EX-S600.  It’s a tiny 6 megapixel camera and it has served me quite well for about two years including being banged about on numerous emergency scenes and being carried into warm and damp places in my turnout gear.  I think it takes excellent pictures.

Unfortunately, last spring it started having issues.  I threw it into the front pocket of my lumbar pack and took it on a hike and it got dust in the lens.  The dust showed up in the photographs which was suboptimal.  I sent it for repairs; the repairs took several months.

In the meantime, I purchased a 10 megapixel Casio Exilm EX-S1080.  I liked this camera well enough and it had some neat features.  In the end, I liked the S600 better and sold the S1080 when the S600 got back from repairs.

Two weeks ago, the S600 had a new problem; the lens wouldn’t extend all the way on startup, resulting in blurry pictures.  Sometimes the lens wouldn’t come out at all, sometimes it would come out partway while making crunching noises, sometimes it would work fine.

So I ordered a new 10 megapixel, the Casio Exilm EX-Z300.  I think I like it; it also has some neat features.  It also takes nice pictures.

